Skip to main content

Steering Committee

Peter D. Adams
Director NCI-Designated Tumor Initiation and Maintenance Program
Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute

Steven R. Cummings, PhD
Director, San Francisco Coordinating Center
Research Scientist, California Pacific Medical Center Research Institute
Professor of Medicine, Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Emeritus
University of California San Francisco

Lisa T. Eyler, PhD
Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Director of MIRECC Mental Health in Aging Unit, Clinical Research Psychologist
Director of the Center for Empathy and Compassion Training in Medical Education
Research focus on understanding individual differences in cognitive and emotional functioning using neurobiological measures including structural and functional brain imaging.

Joe Garbanzos, MPH, EMBAState President (volunteer), American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), AARP-CA

Steven Hornberger, MSW
Professor, School of Social Work
Director, Social Policy Institute, School of Social Work
Co-Director of the Center for Excellence in Aging & Longevity
San Diego State University

Maile Young Karris, MD
Associate Professor
Co-Director San Diego Center for AIDS Research Clinical Investigations Core
Divisions of Infectious Diseases & Global Public Health and Geriatrics & Gerontology
Department of Medicine, University of California San Diego

Ellen E. Lee, MD
Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Division Chief of Geriatric Psychiatry, UC San Diego
Staff Psychiatrist, VA San Diego Healthcare System
Research focus on the inflammatory mediators of sleep disturbances in older adults with serious mental illnesses.

Paula Lemkuil
Director of Business Development, Belmont Village Senior Living
In 2018 Belmont Village was selected by UC San Diego Center for Healthy Aging and Mather LifeWays Institute on Aging for pilot research study Positive Psychological Intervention to Enhance Resilience in Older Adults, designed to test the effectiveness of an intervention to enhance resilience in older adults.

Ramesh R. Rao, PhD
Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Director of the Qualcomm Institute, UCSD division of the California Institute for Telecommunications and Information Technology (Calit2) Qualcomm Endowed Chair in Telecommunications and Information Technologies in the Jacobs School of Engineering.
Dr. Rao is involved on a day-to-day basis with a wide variety of research initiatives at QI, leading several interdisciplinary and collaborative projects while PI on federal-, state-, foundation- and industry-funded grants.

Geert W. Schmid-Schoenbein, PhD
Distinguished Professor, Department of Bioengineering
Director of the UCSD Microcirculation Laboratory – Center for Autodigestion Research.
Research focus on mechanism for disease and death due to digestive enzymes, design of new instrumentation to detect digestive enzymes, monitoring their transport and activity, and developing new approaches to reduce their destructive actions.

Aladdin H. Shadyab, PhD
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology, Herbert Wertheim School of Public Health and Human Longevity Science
Research focus on the epidemiology of aging and science of healthy aging in identifying strategies to lengthen health span and prevent disease and disability in older adults. Interests include geroscience (study of biological aging), aging biomarkers, multi-omics, healthy longevity, and Alzheimer's disease.